Monday, March 6, 2017

No “Sanctuaries” in Georgia

Georgia doesn’t appear to have any “sanctuary” cities or counties. No city or county in Georgia has “declared” that they are sanctuary cities or counties.


Three counties are listed as having implemented the policy of requiring warrants in order to detain criminal aliens for ICE pick-up.


In Georgia, DeKalb, Fulton and Clayton counties will detain illegal aliens for ICE if they have a warrant. The warrant requirements were adopted in 2014 and 2015. 


One of the more recent and pervasive forms of sanctuary policies are those that prevent or otherwise limit state and local officers’ ability to cooperate with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) detainer requests. Detainers are used to request that state and local law enforcement either notify ICE that it is about to release a criminal alien, or to maintain custody of the alien for up to 48-hours for ICE pick-up. ICE detainers are a critical tool created by the federal government to address threats by criminal aliens picked up by state and local law enforcement. Under the Obama Administration, however, ICE detainers are only issued to a very narrow class of criminal aliens, who the Administration determines to be a national security threat or have already been convicted of a crime.


Currently, the Trump administration is attempting to detain and deport criminal illegal aliens.  I believe that non-citizens have no Constitutional rights, but If police jurisdictions have any concerns about 4th amendment rights, clarifying federal legislation may be necessary to give police more time to detain these criminals until their US and foreign criminal backgrounds can be verified.


Norb Leahy, Dunwoody GA Tea Party Leader

No comments: